A Warm Welcome to Watergate Primary School

Watergate is Lewisham’s primary special school for children, between the ages of three and eleven years, who have severe learning difficulties.

Our pupils have a variety of individual needs.  A significant number of our pupils have a diagnosis of autism.  There is a small number of pupils with profound and multiple learning difficulties.  Some pupils have additional physical and sensory disabilities.

Watergate offers a personalised curriculum tailored to individual needs, modified as appropriate, from the National Curriculum.   Our learning environment is designed to meet the very specific and individual requirements of our pupils.

Our large hard working staff are passionate about the education of our pupils and have specialist qualifications, training, expertise, knowledge and skills in the field of Special Educational Needs.

We work closely in partnership with our families and multidisciplinary team colleagues to fully support our pupils to achieve their full potential.

Visitors are very welcome; please contact me at the school

Fiona Veitch
Headteacher

Friends of Watergate

We are the Charity that supports the school. Please join us. Ask at the school office for details.

Our pupils progress

We set Individual Education Plans (IEP) based on each pupil’s Education, Health and Care Plan. We set individual curriculum…

School Announcements

Announcement - MacMillan Coffee Morning Oct 19

SAVE THE DATE: MacMillan Coffee Morning 16th October

Announcement - PSFA Quiz night

Save the date - the PSFA Quiz Night will be on Friday 18th October 2019

Announcement - Cake and coffee with Headteacher

Cake and Coffee with the Headteacher Friday 4th October 2019 (9.30am to 10.30am)

School Results

Watergate results are measured against Progression Guidance. This is a document that provides information for all pupils nationally…

Headteacher’s Newsletter to Parents 23/09/19

Welcome to the new school year at Watergate! Apologies that it has taken me thre...

Cake with Councillors

(Councillors Surgery) with Cllr Jacq Paschoud & Cllr Carl Handley At W...

Friends of Watergate Quiz Night

has been moved to the autumn term 2019 Watch this space for the new date! ...

Our Children At Work

Our Curriculum

Watergate provides a broad and balanced curriculum for all pupils. This includes the National Curriculum and is extended to provide the most appropriate learning opportunities and outcomes for each individual child.

If you want to find out more about the curriculum at Watergate, please contact Natalie Carroll, Curriculum Lead, at the school.

English

 

Communication and English Curriculum at Watergate Pupils will be provided with a wide variety of highly differentiated, motivating activities and experiences designed to support pupils to achieve their individual….

Mathematics

 

Mathematics is essential to every day life, opening up pathways in to other disciplines including science, technology and engineering. It is necessary for functional numeracy skills and future employment All mathematical…

Science

 

develop appropriate scientific knowledge and conceptual understanding through investigation and exploration of a wide range of scientific activities, using their interests, familiar environments and appropriate aspects of the wider world…

Art and Design

 

The different aspects of art and design are covered with stimuli, techniques and presentations developed to provide all pupils with a wide range of artistic and creative opportunities. There is a focus on different styles of art and different artists….

School Dates

Autumn Term 2019
First Day of Term:
Tue 3rd Sept 2019 – Friday 18th Oct 2019
Half Term: Mon 21st Oct 2019 – Tuesday 29th October 2019
Wed 30th Oct 2019 – Wed 18th Dec 2019
Christmas Holiday Thurs 19th Dec 2019 – Fri 3rd Jan 2020

Spring Term 2020
Mon 6th Jan 2020 – Fri 14th Feb 2020
Half term: Mon 17th Feb 2020 – Fri 21st Feb 2020
Mon 24th Feb 2020 – Thurs 2nd April 2020
Easter Holiday: Fri 3rd April 2020 – Friday 20th April 2020

Summer Term 2020
Monday Mon 20th April 2020 – Fri 22nd May 2020 (May Day will be taken on Fri 8 May)
Half term: Mon 25th May 2020 – Fri 29th May 2020
Mon 1st June 2020 – Tue 21st July 2020